In continuation of the Ifako-Ijaiye Community Week Celebrations, the council chairman, Apostle Oloruntoba Oke, on Tuesday, distributed various food and learning support materials to all pupils and students, who  did not only participate in the Spelling BEE Competition, but also attended the  event, held at the Event Centre ,Area Office, on Bola Ahmed Tinubu Way, Iju.
The programme, which had in attendance about seventeen primary schools and three secondary schools (private and public), drawn across the council area, was declared open by the council  helmsman, with words of encouragement to the contestants,  urging spirit of sportsmanship and  utmost dedication to excel in their educational pursuits.
He further said that ”winners of the exercise would be rewarded while all attendees too would also enjoy the gifts put in place, as a mark of  love and care for the children,”he added.
The intellectual exercise at the end of the program, saw the following pupils  emerged winners:
Primary school category, first position was won by Miss Grace Adewunmi of Holy Trinity School, second runner-up ,Miss Blessing Owolabi of Karaole Primary School,
Idiagbon,while the third position went to Miss Lydia Amadi, of Fred Williams Primary School, Fagba.
In the secondary school category, Master  Kazeem Oyetunji, of Mcroyal College came first, second position went to Miss Loveth Ariwolo,of Iju Junior School, Iju,while third position was clinched by Adesola Abejide, of Adeola Memorial College, respectively.
Presenting the gifts to the awardees and pupils on behalf of the council chairman, Ifako-Ijaiye Community  Week Committee,Chairman, Mr Jude Ndor,enjoined the pupils to see the competition as an opportunity to prepare them for more challenging tasks in a highly competitive world.
Among dignitaries that attended the program include: the council vice chairman, Prince Usman Hamzat, Head of Administration, Mr Adewunmi Ogunbambi,Supervisor for Education,Hon.Babajide Atala,HOD Education,Mr .O. Gbesoevi,Members of the local government Exco, Management staff, CDC Chairman, Alhaji A.A Onifade, Head of schools and teachers, as well as party faithful.