Akwa Ibom Governorship Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Abuja has ordered a rerun in 18 Local Governments Area of the state.

Delivering its judgment on Wednesday, the Tribunal expressed satisfaction that there are discrepancies during the governorship election in the state.

Consequently, the Tribunal directed the Independent National Electoral Commission to conduct rerun in the 18 LGAs. .

Akwa Ibom State has 31 Local Government Areas.

Mr. Udom Emmanuel of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was declared winner of the election and was subsequently sworn in as Governor on May 29, 2015.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate, Umana Okon Umana, had approached the Tribunal to challenge the outcome of the April 28 election.